Percept in the News

The Bombay Bombers (Percept) won the 'GOA SUPER SIXES' Tournament
12 October, 2009

The Bombay Bombers (Percept Ltd.) won the coveted ‘Goa Super Sixes’ tournament, India’s first premium annual corporate cricket tournament organised by Percept Ltd at Taj Exotica, Goa. In the grand finale between the Bombay Bombers (Percept Ltd) and Future Kings (Future Group), Bombay Bombers put up a massive score of 86 runs in the 5 overs match. Future Kings (Future Group) managed to make only 36 runs and lost to the host team. The Man of the Series was jointly awarded to Suraj Burse (Ghodawat Stars) and Shailendra Singh (Bombay Bombers).

The Bombay Bombers known to turn up for big games started positively by winning the toss and electing to bat first. Atul Wassan finally delivered when it mattered by scoring a blitzkrieg 31 off just 8 balls. Wassan had three monstrous hits to the fence and was joined in the party by Shailendra Singh who again showed his class by scoring 18 runs off 8 balls with 3 sixes. Aditya Motwane compounded FK’s misery by scoring a solid 20 in the end to help Bombay pile on a massive total of 86 runs. Future Kings were clearly rattled by this onslaught and started on a disastrous note by losing quick wickets. Only Sandeep Patil managed to bring some respectability to the FK innings by scoring16 runs. Ali Quli and Harindra Singh cleaning the FK batting order with some deadly bowling –each picking up 2 wickets to bring the inaugural GSS Cup 2009 to the Bombay Bombers.

The awards ceremony that followed the finals had the following winners:

Most stylish player- Ajay Bijli (Delhi Devil – Bharti Teleservices)
Most Dedicated player or team – Cornish Pirates - Maru Group
Most Lazy player – Shishir Hattangadi (Pinc Panthers – PINC Group)
Mr.Butterfingers – Shashi Ranjan (ITA Tigers)
Catch of the Tournament – Kapil Dev (Delhi Devil - Bharti Teleservices)
Most Sixes – Shailendra Singh – Bombay Bombers (Percept Ltd) (11 sixes)
Best Fielder – Ajay Jadeja (Delhi Devil - Bharti Teleservices )
Best Bowler – Ali Quli (Bombay Bombers - ) – 5 wkts
Best Batsman – Indraneil Sengupta (ITA Tigers)
Man of the Series – Suraj Burse (Ghodawat Stars) and Shailendra Singh (Bombay Bombers) – Joint Winners
GSS Runners up – Future Kings
GSS Winners – Bombay Bombers

Top Corporates from across India like Future Group (Future Kings), Bharti Teleservices (Delhi Devils), Ghodawat Group (Ghodawat Stars), Indian Television Academy (ITA Tigers), Maru Group (Cornish Pirates), Pinc Group (Pinc Panthers) and Percept Limited (Bombay Bombers) came to together for the very first time to participate in the ‘Goa Super Sixes’ Cricket Tournament.

The uniqueness and novelty of the ‘Goa Super Sixes’ was that it involved India’s biggest corporate honchos coming together on the idyllic beaches of Goa. Each team was led by their respective leaders viz. Kishore Biyani, Rajan Mittal, Sanjay Ghodawat, Shashi Ranjan, Gaurang Gandhi, Vasant Maru and Harindra Singh.

Alongwith the Business Leaders and Managers from the corporate world the tournament also witnessed some renowned personalities from Sports fraternity. Cricket icons such as Kapil Dev, Dilip Vengsarkar, Sandip Patil, Ajay Jadeja alongwith world boxing champion Vijendra Singh as well as celebrities from the tinsel town viz. Rohit Roy, Manav Gohil, Suresh Menon and Atul Wassan participated as team members in the 7 corporate teams.

The whole idea behind organizing such an event was to involve India’s biggest corporate honchos on the same platform as there aren’t any sports events specifically designed for them. Such a tournament also gives a good platform to network with like minded people from other companies. And to celebrate the popular sport of cricket by engaging in a friendly yet competitive bout of games to compete for the coveted title of Goa Super Sixes.

Goa Super Sixes tournament was made more exciting by adding some unusual and entertaining rules. Each game was played between two teams of six players each and each team got to play 3 matches and earn 2 points on each win. The action packed game comprised of 5 overs per inning.Underarm bowling was completely prohibited.

This unique corporate cricket property was been ideated, conceptualized and executed by PDM India, a Division of Percept Limited.